Of Chakras & Scripture

Wednesday has become as spiritual as Sunday morning.

On Wednesday afternoon I have my connection group. We’ve finished The Book Of Forgiving but people are finding it difficult to find copies of the next book at the library. The book, Between The Dark And The Daylight, is $15.45 on Amazon but that’s a little steep. I have the e-book and I found two used copies for less than $10 so I’ve ordered them and they’ll arrive sometime next week.

Laura isn’t feeling well so I was in charge. I wanted to accomplish two things at the meeting. First, I wanted to check in and make sure people were okay with the books we’ve been reading. We’ve been reading a lot of personal growth books. I feel that, the more we grow as people, the more we grow in spirit. Thankfully, the group is on the same page.

Second thing I wanted to do was give a brief introduction to the author of our next book. We watched Brène Brown’s Super Soul Sunday episode before we started to read Rising Strong and that seemed to give us an idea of what to expect. I couldn’t find a complete version of Sister Joan Chittister’s Super Soul Sunday appearance so we watched a few short clips of her appearance.

When connection group ended I made my way to meditation. I’ve been skipping it lately because of church leadership classes but I felt the need to attend. Niki wasn’t there so I was able to sit in with Jai Jay.

I haven’t done a chakra clearing meditation in a long time. I used to scoff at chakras but I’ve changed my tune after doing research. The body is a mysterious thing and sometimes our energy gets stuck. From my root to my crown, I knew there was a reason I felt I needed to come to meditation and chakra clearing was the reason why.

I asked Diana to inform whoever was going to run leadership classes that I was going to be a tad late. Guided meditation ends at 6:30 while leadership classes start at 6:30 and I still haven’t found a way to be two places at once. It’s pouring rain and has been for hours now. Meditation when it’s raining is short of magical but walking the few blocks to church not as magical. I was about 15 minutes late, exactly what I had figured but Rev. Deb was only starting when I arrived so I didn’t miss a thing.

It was an interesting meeting. We’re at the point where we’re discussing what type of ministry we’d like to become involved with. The church is in the process of trying to find a new building because we have to be out of the current one at the end of the year.

Our current vision statement says that we “lovingly transform lives by including all, inspiring each other, and influencing community” and we’ve focused on those three “I” statements the last three years. Because we’re at a stage of change we were talking about drafting a new vision statement.

As an affirming church, we are filled with marginalized people. I’d think that the marginalized would be more accepting but that’s not the case. I feel that we should be a church for all and when I say all I truly mean all. If a person, no matter if they are a murderer, rapist, homophobe, etc and feels repentant in their heart, they should have a place at our church. Acts 3:19 says “Therefore repent and return, so that your sins may be wiped away, in order that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord.”

But I learned tonight that there are people in my church that feel that there should be some sort of litmus test before you can come to our church. I don’t know how that’s going to affect me as I move forward but I hope I don’t bump against others because of the social justice aspect I want to bring to the church.

Leave a Reply

