Time Marches On

I can hardly believe that it’s almost April. When I was a child, time seemed so slow. It was so long until the end of the school day. The weeks between Labor Day and Thanksgiving were insurmountable. The time between Christmas break and summer seemed endless. And summer fun seemed to go on forever until Labor Day rolled around and it was back to school.

Now time seems to move much more quickly. I sometimes want to pause so I can catch my breath. The days fly by and blur into each other. I remember ringing in the New Year. Now I’m seeing March go out like a lamb.

I’ve been looking at the etymology of various words and their different meanings. March gets its name from the Roman god of war, Mars, and it is defined as “to walk somewhere quickly and in a determined, confident, or angry way.”

I can understand now why it’s said time marches on. Time is determined to get to the next place. I, on the other hand, have been stuck marching in place. The arrival of Spring and of April has me determined to break out of my rank and take the next step, the first step on my next journey. As Lao Tzu is quoted, “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Leave a Reply

