Book Club Bust

After ten odd years, we’ve finally reached a point where my book club met but only one person actually finished reading the book. It was a book club bust.

This month we attempted to read The House Of The Spirits by Isabel Allende. It’s a magical realism book and by all descriptions it should be a book I could get into. Unfortunately, I found The House Of The Spirits to be uninspiring. The book is what my mom would call “slow and draggy”. Each time I tried to read it I was bored to tears. I usually try to finish the book club selection but this time I wasn’t able to finish. I even tried the audio version and I couldn’t get into it. At least I wasn’t the only one. The only person of the nine of us gathered that finished was Donna. She really loved it and she’s convinced me not to totally give up on the book.

While I didn’t read the book club selection, I did read other books. My connection group finally finished reading The Book Of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu. It’s one of those books that will stick with me.

Mainly I’ve been reading graphic novels. They count towards my reading goal and they’re light reading but substantial reading. The Wicked + The Divine is a series about gods and goddesses reincarnated every ninety years. The Fade Out was a crime noir book set in Hollywood during the McCarthy era. Paper Girls is a great series that heavily reminds me of Netflix’s Stranger Things

I’ve also read some plays. Picasso At The Lapin Agile about an imaginary meeting between Albert Einstein and Pablo Picasso and Between Riverside And Crazy which was set in NYC and was about lots of different issues.

I might not have been able to finish The House Of The Spirits but at least I read a few books in March.

Leave a Reply

