Two Cents: Stressed Out Edition

My dad has been in the hospital and I’m been stressed out. I find solace in movies so here’s what I’ve been watching lately.

Avatar: I’m not a James Cameron fan so Avatar escaped my attention. But it’s a movie that keeps coming up in all areas of my life. My film professor mentioned it. My international politics professor mentioned it. My comparative religions professor mentioned it. It comes up in a discussion of social justice. I can understand why. Avatar is a luminous film that relates so well to the modern world. If you haven’t seen Avatar I suggest you go rent it.

Suicide Squad: This was one of the big comic book movies of last summer. I agree with everyone else that Jared Leto’s Joker was underused. But I really enjoyed the camaraderie between the Suicide Squad members but I wish there had been a better villain to interact with the DC rouges gallery. And I really enjoyed the eye candy of Joel Kinnaman and Jay Hernandez.

Florence Foster Jenkins: This wouldn’t be a film I’d typically watch but it was pretty enjoying. I don’t think that Meryl Streep can make a misstep at this point of her career and it’s always great to see Hugh Grant on screen.

All About Eve: This is a cinema classic starring the legendary Bette Davis and it includes the famous “fasten your seatbelts” quote. All About Eve is an epic film about fame. It’s a must watch.

Kill Your Darlings: I won a copy of the Blu-ray edition years ago and it has sat on my desk ever since. I’m doing a little spring cleaning, a little downsizing so I decided to finally open it and watch. Kill Your Darlings is a true story of a murder involving members of the Beat Generation including Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac and William S. Burroughs. I had never heard of this event so I found the film fascinating. And to see Daniel Radcliffe, Harry Potter himself, having gay sex was a treat.

The Adjustment Bureau: This was a thought provoking movie about freewill and chance. I really don’t know how to describe it.

Dancer: A remarkable documentary about ballet dancer Sergei Polunin.

Along with movies I’ve been binge watching TV.

Homeland, season 1: Great premise of what would happen if an American Pie had been turned and released by the enemy to become a sleeper agent. It’s intense. 

Code Geass, season 2: I watched the first season of Code Geass in anime club when I was at Macomb. That season ended on a cliffhanger so I’ve been meaning to watch for almost a year. The basic premise is that there’s this guy named Lelouche and he’s the emperor’s son. His mother dies and Lelouche vows to seek revenge for her death. He has the power of Geass which allows him to mind control a person by looking them in the eye. Using his Geass power he dons a secret identity, Zero, in order to seek the aforementioned revenge.

Leave a Reply

