Goodbye Winter

I haven’t been feeling well and that means I haven’t been sleeping. I’m currently been awake for almost 21 hours. Last night I couldn’t sleep at all. My stomach felt queasy. I thought I was going to vomit and have to sleep on the couch. The queasy feeling went away around 6:30 but, by then, it was pretty much too late to get any sleep before I had to get up for church. I tried in vain to sleep but, once the sun rose, I gave up and went to breakfast.

I’m usually not a breakfast eater but I keep seeing this IHOP commercial for their cinnamon roll French toast. I decided I wanted to enjoy the Sunday paper so I bought one at Rite Aid then headed down to IHOP.

I don’t know if it’s because it was Sunday or if I was there at 9:30 but IHOP was packed. I was seated next to a Detroit police officer and his girlfriend. I had a really great conversation with him. We talked about the travesty of the Sunday morning newspaper being so thin compared to the thickness of the past and how the newspaper strike and its eventual end plus the advent of the Internet and social media signalled the end of the print newspaper. I loaned him my paper while I chowed down and that lead to a freewheeling discussion on a host of topics. I found it a great way to start the day.

I arrived to church super early so I didn’t know what to do with myself. Service starts at 11 and I usually waltz in around 10:50. I have just enough time to fill out my prayer request and take my seat.

We’re deep into a sermon series called “Get Up And Get Out”. So far the sermons have centered around the various disciples. This morning was quite profound. Rev. Roland preached about the jealousy among Jesus’s disciples. Then he started talking about friendship and how we rank our friendship. He said that most of us have friends that are either objects or subjects. An object friend is a friend that only takes up space and is there for your convenience. Just as objects on a shelf are admired and used for status, object friends are the people we use to help ourselves. A subject friend is someone we have a mutual respectful relationship. With subject friends, we care about their well-being and we don’t try to dictate the friendship as we do with object friends. I’d never thought about friendship in those terms but it makes sense.

Then he dropped a question that still has me thinking about the answer. Where do you rank God? I don’t think of God the way that Rev. Roland does but I still can answer the question. I consider my relationship with the Powers That Be set aside from everything else in my life. Scripture in Matthew chapter 6 talks about how, if we are to pray and do good works, we should do them in secret and in silence. We shouldn’t be out in the street bringing attention to ourselves. It’s a concept I practice. I’ll write about my spiritual life because this online space is partly somewhere I keep track of my everyday life but I don’t really talk unprovoked about my spiritual beliefs. My relationship with the Universe is different than anything else because the Universe is within me and surrounds me. We all come from a source and we all return to that same source. I have a symbiotic relationship with the Divine Wow so I can’t really rank it.

Today marks the end of winter. I’m actually going to be doing some spiritual craft this week and I need some candles so I stopped by Candlewick. There I bought a few candles, a stone bowl and a stone. I usually don’t get into stones but, sometimes, one will call out to me. This time it was a dalmatian stone. I hadn’t heard of it so I did some brief research. (h/t to Crystal Vaults for the info)

“The determination within Dalmatian Stone encourages one to carefully think over plans for any project, reflecting on every phase of development, and then to translate the ideas into actuality with enthusiasm and vigor. It is an excellent talisman for the early stages of setting up a business or solo venture. It is particularly beneficial for those who are overly analytical, returning some of the intellectual carefulness back into the physical joy of simply being. Dalmatian Stone encourages fidelity and emotional harmony, strengthening family bonds and long-term friendships. It encourages team effort and cooperation at work. Dalmatian Jasper supports the body’s physical balance and is a great stone for those who engage in the martial arts, tai chi, or chi gung. Its ability to balance yin-yang energy helps one capture the essence of this art for good health and well-being.” Hmmm, it like the Powers That Be know what I’m planning and sent the proper stone my way.

Leave a Reply

