Time

It’s the morning after Daylight Saving Time. We went from 1:00 am to 3:00 am bypassing the two o’clock hour as time sprung forward. I’m a notorious nightowl so I’m exhausted. This morning seemed to fly by but I did make it to church to time.

My grandfather used to say that the government should not mess with time. I agree with him. I’ve been pondering how time is a man made construct. The sun will rise and set. There are still 24 hours in a day. Time continues to advance no matter how much we would like it to, sometimes, stop.

What I have learned over the years is that we don’t have control of time but we do have control of how we spend our time. Lately I’ve been spending my time on things that don’t propel me forward. I’ve been spending my time in grief and sadness. I’ve been spending my time fighting depression. I’ve been spending time trying to make people like me and love me. All that stops now.

My time and effort has value. I need to be spending it on things and people that recognize that value. I’m trying to reach a point where I can set up boundaries and defend those boundaries. I’m going to take the immortal words of J.R.R. Tolkien to heart and remember “all we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

Leave a Reply

