International Women’s Day

Today is International Woman’s Day. I keep thinking about a Tupac song called “Keep Your Head Up”.

And since we all came from a woman
Got our name from a woman and our game from a woman
I wonder why we take from our women
Why we rape our women, do we hate our women?
I think it’s time to kill for our women
Time to heal our women, be real to our women
And if we don’t we’ll have a race of babies
That will hate the ladies that make the babies
And since a man can’t make one
He has no right to tell a woman when and where to create one
So will the real men get up?
I know you’re fed up, ladies, but keep your head up

Since we’re living in the OrangeAsshole regime and he seems to have little regard for the modern forward thinking woman, today was also a day that woman, if they were able to, went on strike.

I’m the only male in my connection group. I usually host it but it was at Diana’s house. I’m thankful that the women in my connection group decided to show up. We’ve been having great discussion as we grapple with forgiveness. This afternoon was a discussion about needing forgiveness. I know that I’ve hurt people and I’ve needed to ask for forgiveness. The odd thing is that the consensus was that it’s easier to grant forgiveness to another person rather than to ask for forgiveness. It plays into being vulnerable, lessons we learned about in our previous book, Rising Strong by Brêne Brown. 

What I’m loving most about The Book Of Forgiving is the choice between renewing relationships or releasing relationships. I’m at a point of my life where I’m more likely to release a relationship than I am to renew it. At forty I don’t feel like I have the time or want to make the effort to deal with other people’s drama.

Ironically, I wore red without knowing that supporters of woman’s rights was supposed to wear red. I’m at the end of my laundry cycle so my red sweater was the only thing I had clean. I’m wearing dirty pants because I split the pants I was wearing earlier taking a case of bottled water out of the back of Laura’s SUV. 

Of course if I had known I would have worn red regardless. I support women and I don’t understand those who don’t. I have a mom. I have a sister and a sister in law. I have nieces and great nieces. I had a grandmother. I have aunts. I have female cousins. I have female co-workers and classmates and friends. Some of the most important people in my life are women and I support them 100℅.

Leave a Reply

