Weekend Recap & Monday Motivation

My connection group as been reading The Book Of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu. Because I’m studying forgiveness, I was invited to attend a play on Saturday about forgiveness at the First Congregational Church Of Detroit.

Desperately Seeking Forgiveness was an entertaining look at forgiveness. It features two families and the secrets and lies they’ve been keeping from each other for years. It was confusing at times and it probably needs a good edit to workaround the truly melodramatic parts of it but, overall, I enjoyed myself. The actress who played the part of Chocolate had me and the rest of the audience laughing. And the guy who played the counselor had little to do but he looked fine so I was appreciative of the eye candy.

After the play we went to dinner at Traffic Jam and Snug. I’ve been in the neighborhood of Traffic Jam and Snug but I’d never ate there until Saturday. I had the beef brisket panini and it was as big as my arm. So delicious and I was able to bring some of it home.

Sunday morning was the first Sunday of Lent. I went to church and really appreciated the sermon that Rev. Roland gave. His sermon was directed to those that are spiritual but not religious. I recognize that I have an untraditional spiritual path and Rev. Roland illustrated that there are many paths out there. It was really refreshing to hear.

I have several cinematic traditions. One of those traditions is to watch 40 Days And 40 Nights. It’s an early aughts (2002) starring the luscious Josh Hartnett and Shannyn Sossamon. Josh Hartnett plays a guy recently broken up with his girlfriend who decides to give up sex for Lent.

I don’t have a specific day that I watch as long as it falls somewhere during the Lenten season but I think I’m going to earmark it for the first Sunday of Lent.

I didn’t get enough sleep last night so I’m a little tired this morning. Because of Lent, I’ve been spinning the prayer wheel daily and meditating on whatever it lands on. This morning it landed on a Jack Kornfield Buddhist prayer.

There is only one time
when it is essential to awaken.

That time is now.

It’s the first Monday of the month. It’s another time that we can set our intention for the day, the week, the month. It doesn’t matter what happened an hour ago, a day ago, a month ago or even a year ago. The only time is now.

Leave a Reply

