Two Cents: The Shack

​I watch a lot of movies, first run movies, but I’m not a critic. I know what I like and I know what I dislike. A lot of people ask me what my thoughts are so I’ve decided to start a new segment called “Two Cents” that’ll give you my two cents on any given entertainment topic.

Years ago, I read a book by William Young called The Shack for my connection group. Now, it’s been turned into a movie starring Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer and Sam Worthington. My current connection group decided to take a field trip to see it.

I’m not going to spoil the book for you but I’ll quickly give a synopsis. Sam Worthington plays a guy named Mack. He’s not particularly religious but he’s married to a devout Christian named Nan and Nan likes to refer to God as Papa. Mack and Nan have 3 children and a beautiful life. An incident occurs which makes Mack lose what little faith he had to begin with. He’s left alone during a blizzard when he receives a note in his mailbox inviting him to visit a shack the following weekend. The note is signed Papa. Because this shack is the focal point of the aforementioned incident, Mack decides to take Papa up on the offer. He visits the shack and does meet Papa and Jesus and a personification of the Holy Spirit named Sarayu.

Now, I’ll be honest and admit that I usually don’t enjoy “Christian” films. I attend church on a regular basis. I host connection group most Wednesdays. But all that doesn’t stop me from thinking that many “Christian” films I’ve seen are a bit heavy handed. Instead of focusing on the merits of the story, most of these films are thinly veiled pieces of propaganda. 

I loved the book and I loved the movie. I loved how the Holy Trinity was conveyed. I love how there was an emphasis on the fact that God is always with us but sometimes we are blinded by our fear, our anger, our grief, our whatever to recognize it. I loved that it presented God in a way that people could understand without being pushy and preachy about it. 

If you consider yourself a Christian, I’d recommend watching The Shack. If you consider yourself spiritual but not religious, I’d recommend watching The Shack. It’s one of those movies that will have you talking about it for weeks to come.

Leave a Reply

