OrangeAsshole

When President Trump was elected I told myself that I probably wouldn’t watch any of his presidential addresses. His unofficial State Of The Union was tonight and I decided to watch after all. My thinking is that I’d rather know what was coming and hear it from the source than be left in the dark and let my news be filtered through someone else.

The way that Donald Trump describes the United States makes us sound bleaker than we really are. He talks about the Detroit inner city and how it’s been failed without mentioning that Detroit is going through another renaissance period. Trump talks about how drugs are pouring into this country and it makes it sound like there are drug houses on every corner and that every other person is on drugs. I’m beginning to realize that Trump exaggerates everything. 

Trump loves to talk about immigration and how Radical Islamic terrorists are out to destroy us. He neglects to mention that a white guy shot two Indian-Americans in Kansas while highlighting those in the gallery that had been harmed by undocumented immigrants. Don’t get me started about how reckless his new VOICE (Victims Of Immigration Crime Engagement) program is and how similar it is to what the Nazis did to the Jews.
The immediate reaction to Trump’s presidential address is that he has now become presidential because he honored Carryn Owens, the widow of a Navy SEAL killed in Yemen during a disastrous raid. William “Ryan” Owens was killed in action along with over 20 civilians. The sad thing is that the high level person we were after escaped so the intelligence that was captured is in doubt. President Trump tarnished the memory of Owens by using his death to further the Trump Regime’s militant aspirations. 

Others thought that Trump was presidential but I think he’s an asshole. I’ve given him a little over a month to get his act together. Since January 20th he’s introduced a budget that cuts money from the EPA, the arts and all the important things while funneling more money into the military. He’s taken away protection from trans* students. His stance on immigration is atrocious. Fuck, his stance on most things is atrocious. And that’s why I’ve made the decision to take away the respect I usually reserve for the sitting president. He might be the sitting president but I no longer recognize him as my president. Three more years under the OrangeAsshole. God help us all.

Leave a Reply

