I’m dragging ass today. I stayed up way past my bedtime over the weekend.

I stayed up way too late on Saturday. I wound up going to mens group to see the mythical gay firefighter and went to eat with the guys afterward. Then HJ and I wound up at Soho. It’s been too long since I saw him but I had a feeling he’d show up.

Of course, last night I stayed up to watch the Academy Awards. I’m still in shock over what went down. In a stunning mistake that everybody be talking about, Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were mistakenly given the extra envelope for Best Actress instead of Best Picture. Rewatching it, you can see that Warren Beatty is visibly confused and that’s why he hemmed and hawed while announcing the winner. He shows it to Faye Dunaway and she only sees La La Land and announces it as the winner. The film was the odds on favorite to win so no one was surprised to see the producers of La La Land take the stage.

Then things got interesting. After Jordan Horowitz gave a moving acceptance speech calling for Hollywood to continue “to create and champion bold and diverse work, work that inspires us towards joy, towards hope and towards empathy” and Marc Platt spoke about how “repression is the enemy of civilization”, Fred Berger said the words that shocked the audience at the Dolby Theater and the audience at home. “We lost, by the way, but, you know.”

Moonlight won. OMG! Moonlight won Best Picture. I feel that it took the people in charge of the Oscars far too long to acknowledge the mistake. The people behind Moonlight weren’t allowed to have their moment. It was chaos but Moonlight, a film featuring a black cast and same sex love, won Best Picture. 

Leave a Reply

