And The Oscar Goes To….

The Academy Awards come on tonight. I’m a big movie fan so I’ll definitely be watching. I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve only seen 2 (Hell Or High Water and Moonlight) of the 9 films nominated for Best Picture. Award shows, like any other event that tries to judge art, are subjective. That said, here are my picks for the top six awards.

Best Picture: God, I hope Moonlight wins but I’m afraid we’re going to have another Brokeback Mountain situation where the Academy isn’t ready to recognize a gay film so La La Land will probably win.

Best Director: Damien Chazelle has been this year’s it boy. He’ll win for La La Land and become the youngest director ever to win the Oscar.

Best Actor: I think the controversy surrounding Casey Affleck and his alleged mistreatment of women will prevent him for winning for Manchester By The Sea so Denzel Washington will win for Fences. That said, I wonder if it’s fair to judge a performance on the actor. If a totally douchebag (and I’m not saying Casey Affleck is one) pours his heart into a role is it then unfair to judge the performance by the performer. It’s called acting and I’m not sure if an actor’s real life actions should affect honoring a good job on screen. Food for thought.

Best Actress: I would be floored if Emma Stone didn’t win for La La Land. She’s the frontrunner and it’s her time to shine.

Best Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali has to win for Moonlight if there’s any sense in this world.

Best Supporting Actress: This is, by far, the hardest choice. It’s a coin toss between Viola Davis for Fences or Michelle Williams for Manchester By The Sea. I told my friend Devon that I picked Michelle Williams but I really didn’t know.

Leave a Reply

