National Reading Day

I found out that today was National Reading Day. This is a holiday I can fully support. I’m a huge reader. I used to be a library clerk so books are a not so secret passion of mine. In celebration of the day I thought I’d share what’s in my currently reading pile. Usually I’m going back and forth between at least 2-3 books but right now I’m in the process of reading 5.

The Sense Of Style by Steven Pinker. I read an interview with the author at the beginning of the year. It compelled me to pick up a copy of his book. It’s a book about writing which I appreciate since I’m in the process of what I dub “world building” a fictional story. It’s also a style manual. This book would be comfortable shelved next to a well worn copy of The Elements Of Style.

The Book Of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu. This is the book my Wednesday connection group is discussing. In life we’re always told we need to forgive but nobody teaches us how to forgive. This book is the how to, go to book on forgiveness. My connection group never goes for the easy read but the books we discuss are always life changing.

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequest. This is a book that grabbed my attention last time I was at the library. It’s a spiritual guidebook on how to be more present in every day life. My two action phrases for 2017 are mindful and meaningful. This book dovetails nicely with those sentiments.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. This is what my book club is reading for January. It’s a book where you really have to suspend your disbelief. I’d say about 80% of the book takes place in a world wide virtual reality stimulation (think The Sims taken to the extreme or Second Life) based on obscure pop culture. This books is chockful of video game references, cult film classics, hairband metal, Japanese anime, etc. It’s a little difficult to get into but once you acclimate to the world Ernest Cline has built it turns out to be a riveting story.

Fates And Furies by Lauren Groff. You don’t see a hard copy of the book because it’s on my Kindle. I swore for years that I would never succumb to e-books but it’s too damn convenient. My friend, Jen, recommended the book. This is a book I just recently started. I’m enjoying it. My only quibble is that one of the main characters is called Lotto and I always think of CVS 8045 and working the lotto counter when I see his name.

This is what I’m reading. What are you reading? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

